WhatsApp Channel Join Now
Telegram Group Join Now

IND vs AUS: India Clinches a 99-Run Victory over Australia (DLS Method) and Commands a 2-0 Series Lead

“The Australian cricket team failed to reach their lofty goal of 400 runs, scoring only 217 runs in an Indore contest that was hampered by rain.”

IND vs AUS: India Clinches a 99-Run Victory over Australia (DLS Method) and Commands a 2-0 Series Lead

India, displaying a remarkable performance, scored 399 runs for the loss of 5 wickets, with notable centuries from Shreyas Iyer and Shubman Gill. Additionally, Suryakumar Yadav’s explosive 72 off just 37 balls and a remarkable three-wicket haul by R Ashwin secured India a commanding 99-run victory over Australia through the DLS method. This triumph also sealed India’s 2-0 series win in the One Day International (ODI) series.

India’s batsmen dominated the game, hitting a total of 31 fours and 18 sixes, accumulating their formidable total on a pitch favorable to batting. In contrast, Australia faced difficulties in their batting innings. Prasidh Krishna, who replaced the rested Jasprit Bumrah in the XI, troubled the Australian batsmen initially. After a second rain delay, Australia succumbed to the spinners, ultimately managing only 217 runs in a contest where the gap in performance was substantial.

During the first half of the innings, a partnership worth 200 runs in just 164 balls for the second wicket between Shreyas Iyer and Shubman Gill established India’s dominance. In the final 20 overs, KL Rahul, Suryakumar Yadav, and Ishan Kishan contributed to India’s imposing total, leaving Australia with the daunting task of chasing a record target.

Both Iyer and Gill demonstrated their prowess with the bat, with Iyer hitting five boundaries in his first 14 balls, and Gill finding his rhythm shortly thereafter. Their fifty-run partnership came in just 29 balls, and by the tenth over, India had reached a score of 80 for 1. Even as the fielding restrictions eased, the duo continued to dominate, with Gill, in particular, excelling with shots down the ground.

MUST READ: ☞  IND vs SA 1st T20: Will Durban's bouncy pitch scare? Team India for the first T20… see the statistics

This continued momentum allowed Gill to accelerate from a score of 9 off 19 balls to a half-century in just 37 deliveries. Similarly, Iyer reached his fifty in 41 balls, both batsmen displaying aggression and taking India to 158 for 1 between overs 11 and 20. Their pace only slightly decreased as they approached their respective centuries.

Please, also read

Ind vs Aus: India Secures Historic Rankings after first ODI win

Shreyas Iyer achieved his third ODI century in the 30th over of the innings, prompting a standing ovation from the entire stadium. Although he received a reprieve when Sean Abbott failed to grasp a catch off his own bowling, Iyer was dismissed shortly after for a well-earned 105 off 90 balls. Two overs later, Shubman Gill reached his sixth ODI century. However, while attempting a big shot off Cameron Green, he was also dismissed, scoring 104 off 97 balls.

KL Rahul and Ishan Kishan, batting at numbers 4 and 5 respectively, got off the mark with sixes. Rahul continued to strike two more, including one that sailed over the highest stand near deep midwicket. Their partnership of 59 runs in 33 balls was a fitting follow-up to the centuries, but Kishan fell to Adam Zampa for 31.

For most of the first innings, the 400-run mark seemed achievable, especially with wickets in hand. However, Australia managed to slow down the scoring rate during the final powerplay. At the end of the 43rd over, India’s score stood at 311 for 4, and the run rate was heading in the wrong direction.

Suryakumar Yadav, however, swiftly changed the game’s trajectory. He hammered Cameron Green for four consecutive sixes in the 44th over, adding 26 valuable runs. Meanwhile, KL Rahul was dismissed for 52 off 38 balls, but Suryakumar Yadav continued his explosive batting. He toyed with Sean Abbott in a 17-run 47th over, achieving his second fifty of the series in just 24 balls.

MUST READ: ☞  "Jim Harbaugh Returns: New Head Coach to LA Chargers"

Australia’s bowling performance on the day was forgettable, despite doing little wrong. Indore’s pitch is notoriously unforgiving to bowlers, and this was evident as debutant Spencer Johnson conceded 61 runs in eight overs, while Sean Abbott was hit for 91 runs in 10. Cameron Green’s figures of 2 for 103 made him the fourth Australian bowler to concede over 100 runs in an ODI.

Prasidh Krishna struck early in Australia’s chase, dismissing Matthew Short (9) and Steven Smith (0) off consecutive deliveries. This left David Warner and Marnus Labuschagne to rebuild the innings. However, a second rain delay reduced the game to 33 overs, making the DLS-adjusted target of 317 runs even more challenging.

When play resumed, R Ashwin introduced a variety of tricks. One delivery led to the dismissal of right-handed Warner, caught lbw. Another delivery shattered Labuschagne’s stumps, and a third proved too tricky for Josh Inglis, leading to his downfall.

With the pitch offering significant turn, in contrast to the conditions earlier in the day, and Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja extracting sharp turn and bounce, it appeared as though the end was near for Australia. Alex Carey was bowled by Jadeja, and Cameron Green was run out carelessly, leaving only consolation runs.

Sean Abbott, batting at No. 9, made a valiant effort, scoring a quick 54 off 36 balls. From a precarious position of 140 for 8, his boundary-laden innings propelled Australia past the 200-run mark, with Josh Hazlewood providing valuable support. Abbott reached his fifty in just 29 balls, hitting four fours and five sixes, injecting a dose of positivity into Australia’s performance before they eventually succumbed to their fifth consecutive ODI defeat.

MUST READ: ☞  ICC World Test Championship Final 2023: The Ultimate Showdown of Test Cricket Giants

The only downside for India was their fielding, which proved challenging due to the dewy conditions late in the day. Lower-order Australian batsmen managed to boost their team’s total. Ravindra Jadeja concluded the game with a sensational turning delivery that disturbed Abbott’s stumps in the 29th over, finishing with a three-wicket haul.

Both teams are now set to move to Rajkot, with full-strength XIs expected to compete in the final ODI. This match provided the fringe players with a final opportunity to make an impression, with some achieving success while others faced challenges.

Leave a Comment

WhatsApp Channel Join Now
Telegram Group Join Now