WhatsApp Channel Join Now
Telegram Group Join Now

India vs South Africa: Dominant Victory Led by Jadeja and Kohli with a 243-Run Win against South Africa

India Triumphs Over South Africa with 243-run Victory: Kohli and Jadeja Shine

India vs South Africa: Dominant Victory Led by Jadeja and Kohli with a 243-Run Win against South Africa
B’day boy Virat Kohli and Mohammad Siraj celebrating after taking South Africa’s first wicket

In a thrilling clash between India and South Africa, Virat Kohli’s splendid unbeaten century, his 101 not out, took center stage as India posted a formidable 326-5. This marked the eighth consecutive victory for India in the ODI World Cup, solidifying their unbeaten streak in the tournament. The exceptional performance by Ravindra Jadeja, who secured five crucial wickets by conceding just 33 runs, was the linchpin in India’s domination over South Africa, who currently held the second position in the tournament’s standings.

The South African team got off to a shaky start, with Mohammed Siraj swiftly dismissing the in-form Quinton de Kock for a mere 5 runs. Despite the cautious efforts of Temba Bavuma and Rassie van der Dussen, the required run-rate continued to rise. It was Jadeja who turned the tide in India’s favor by dismissing skipper Bavuma for 11, leaving South Africa at 22/2.

In the following over, Mohammed Shami further pushed South Africa into a precarious position by sending Aiden Markram packing for just 9 runs, caught behind by KL Rahul. All-rounder Jadeja’s prowess was on full display as he claimed the wicket of Heinrich Klaasen for 1, resulting in South Africa’s score plummeting to 40/4. In the same over, Shami secured his second scalp by dismissing Rassie van der Dussen for 13, leaving Proteas reeling at 40/5.

David Miller and Marco Jansen made efforts to rebuild South Africa’s innings, but Jadeja was relentless, cleaning up Miller when South Africa had reached a mere 59 runs. Jadeja continued to wreak havoc by dismissing Keshav Maharaj for 7, deepening South Africa’s troubles at 67/7. Kuldeep Yadav then joined the party, catching Marco Jansen off-guard at 79/8. In the following over, Jadeja completed his five-wicket haul by dismissing Kagiso Rabada, caught behind for 6. South Africa’s ordeal concluded when Kuldeep Yadav dismissed Lungi Ngidi for a duck, resulting in their total being restricted to a paltry 83 runs. India secured yet another resounding victory, this time by a staggering 243-run margin.

MUST READ: ☞  Spain vs Italy at UEFA Nations League semi-final: See the date, time, where to watch on TV, live stream, line-up

Virat Kohli’s remarkable performance, which included his 49th ODI century, thrilled the Eden Gardens crowd as India set a target of 326 for South Africa. Kohli achieved this milestone on his 35th birthday, taking 119 balls and hitting 10 fours during his innings.

In the early stages of the match, Rohit Sharma and Shubhman Gill provided a strong start for India. Rohit’s aggressive approach resulted in a quick 40 runs off 24 balls. However, South Africa managed to make a comeback by dismissing both Rohit and Gill, leaving India at 105 for two after 15 overs.

The match began with Rohit Sharma winning the toss and choosing to bat at the historic Eden Gardens stadium in Kolkata. India’s playing XI remained unchanged, while South Africa made one change by introducing an additional spinner into their lineup. The clash between India and South Africa promised to be a riveting contest, with both teams occupying the top positions in the ICC World Cup 2023 Points Table.

Former India captain Virat Kohli had a golden opportunity to mark his 49th ODI century on his birthday. Achieving this milestone would place him alongside his cricketing idol, Sachin Tendulkar, as one of the players with the most centuries in the 50-over format.

In a series of notable firsts, India became the first team to officially qualify for the knockout stages of the ICC World Cup 2023. They also held the distinction of being the only unbeaten team in the tournament, having won all seven of their matches so far.

India’s successful World Cup run was notable for the absence of star all-rounder Hardik Pandya due to an ankle injury sustained during a match against Bangladesh.


Throughout the tournament, India’s bowlers and batsmen stood out, with Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma leading the batting charge, while bowlers like Shami, Siraj, and Bumrah excelled in swinging the white ball as they pleased.

On the other hand, South Africa made a strong statement with their performances in the World Cup. With the exception of a lone defeat to the Netherlands, the Proteas displayed exceptional form, with their opening pair of Quinton de Kock and skipper Temba Bavuma laying a solid foundation. Lower-order batsmen like Klaasen and Miller effectively capitalized on the strong start. India retained their playing XI from their dominant victory over Sri Lanka, with all-rounder Hardik Pandya sidelined due to an ankle injury.

The squads for the India and South Africa World Cup teams are as follows:


  1. Rohit Sharma
  2. Shubman Gill
  3. Virat Kohli
  4. Shreyas Iyer
  5. KL Rahul
  6. Suryakumar Yadav
  7. Ravindra Jadeja
  8. Kuldeep Yadav
  9. Mohammed Shami
  10. Jasprit Bumrah
  11. Mohammed Siraj

South Africa:

  1. Quinton de Kock
  2. Temba Bavuma
  3. Rassie van der Dussen
  4. Aiden Markram
  5. Heinrich Klaasen
  6. David Miller
  7. Marco Jansen
  8. Keshav Maharaj
  9. Kagiso Rabada
  10. Lungi Ngidi
  11. Tabraiz Shamsi

Key Highlights:

  1. Rohit Sharma won the toss and chose to bat first at the iconic Eden Gardens stadium in Kolkata. Temba Bavuma expressed a preference for batting first as well.
  2. Shubman Gill and Rohit Sharma opened the innings for India, while Lungi Ngidi initiated the proceedings for the Proteas.
  3. Keshav Maharaj, in his first over, dismissed Shubman Gill with a splendid delivery.
  4. Lungi Ngidi forced Shreyas Iyer to make an erroneous shot, resulting in his wicket.
  5. KL Rahul attempted to flick the first ball of the 43rd over but skied it, and Rassie van der Dussen executed a brilliant catch.
  6. In the second over, Mohammed Siraj bowled a boundary off de Kock but quickly bounced back to clean-bowl him.
  7. Ravindra Jadeja was introduced during the first powerplay and claimed the wicket of Temba Bavuma.
  8. Ravindra Jadeja secured his second wicket of the match by earning an LBW decision in his favor, dismissing Heinrich Klaasen.
  9. Ravindra Jadeja clean-bowled David Miller.
  10. Jadeja skillfully deceived Keshav Maharaj, clean-bowling him.
  11. Kuldeep Yadav also contributed to the onslaught by dismissing Marco Jansen, caught by Jadeja, with the Proteas struggling at 79/8.
  12. Ravindra Jadeja completed his five-wicket haul by dismissing Kagiso Rabada, caught behind for 6.
  13. Kuldeep Yadav dismissed Lungi Ngidi for a duck, leading to South Africa’s total being limited to a mere 83 runs, as India achieved another commanding 243-run victory.
Exciting news! Meritnews24 is now on WhatsApp Channels 🚀 Subscribe today by clicking the link and stay updated with the latest insights!” Click here!

Leave a Comment

WhatsApp Channel Join Now
Telegram Group Join Now